The joys of a back yard garden

This time of year I get pretty excited about the garden.  Planning, planting and getting my hands dirty are all pretty special, to me.

For those of you to know me, you’ll know that I also truly enjoy making dirt.  Not everybody would admit that they love making compost.  We collect our vegetable waste (banana peals, grapefruit rind, coffee grounds, and so much more) all year long and I keep working the compost pile.  So, mixing the composted “new dirt” into the existing garden soil is one of the satisfying gardening tasks that I get to do this time a year.

Another very pleasurable gardening task that happens this time of year is the spreading of some homemade mulch throughout the garden. We have several large ornamental grasses that grow beautifully in our front yard. Then as winter comes and turns to spring the tall grasses dry out and become a light tan in color. I cut down the dead grasses yearly and then I cut them into smaller pieces and pile them in the backyard until this time of year. Then, at this point in the garden planting process, I take the dried grasses that were in our front yard the year before in and use it as a mulch around my tomatoes and peppers and egg plants, etc. in the garden.   Anywhere I want to have it in the garden, I spread this dry ornamental grass and it becomes the path.

I also enjoy gathering rainwater in my large 55 gallon containers and then using that rainwater on the garden. I have five rain barrels.  So, I can gather a lot of rain water and use it on my plants. All indications are that the plants like the rain water.

So from compost to ornamental grasses to rainwater I try to use things that are available to me to help my garden grow.

Thinking about making a my garden grow, makes me think of lyrics of David Mallet’s gardening song which you’ll find below. Enjoy!

 

David Mallett’s

 

Garden Song Lyrics

Inch by inch, row by row
Gonna make this garden grow
All it takes is a rake and a hoe
And a piece of fertile ground

And inch by inch, and row by row
Someone bless these seeds I sow
Someone warm them from below
Till the rain comes tumblin’ down

And pullin’ weeds and pickin’ stones
Man is made of dreams and bones
Feel the need to grow my own
‘Cause the time is close at hand

And rain for grain, sun and rain
Find my way in nature’s chain
And tune my body and my brain
To the music from the land

Inch by inch and row by row
Gonna make this garden grow
All it takes is a rake and a hoe
And a piece of fertile ground

And inch by inch, and row by row
Someone bless these seeds I sow
And someone warm them from below
Till the rain comes tumblin’ down

Plant your rows straight and long
Temper them with prayer and song
And mother earth will make you strong
If you give her love and care

An old crow watchin’ hungrily
From his perch in yonder tree
And in my garden I’m as free
As that feathered thief up there

Inch by inch and row by row
Gonna make this garden grow
All it takes is a rake and a hoe
And a piece of fertile ground

And inch by inch, and row by row
Someone bless these seeds I sow
And someone warm them from below
Till the rain comes tumblin’ down

Robin_garden_gloves_2010

 

Leave a Reply

